Masterworks 1: Surprised Surrender
Cicely Parnas – Cello

Concert Dates: September 10-12, 2021
Venues: Digital Only
Concert Sponsored by Grace Abbott

The fall concerts offer a delightful departure from the pre-pandemic concert fare. Without a crystal ball in this ever-changing post-pandemic landscape, we are saving the heavy-duty symphonic warhorses for the spring. Instead, we are reaching into a different chest of treasures. We are starting with a work by the Chevalier de Saint-Georges, a remarkable and brilliant Classical era composer, and the ever-clever Haydn. Dynamic young cellist Cicely Parnas joins us for Tchaikovsky’s charming set of variations for our return to live performance!

Saint-Georges: Symphony No. 1 in G Major
Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme
Haydn: Symphony No. 94 in G Major, ‘Surprise’

Read the program for this concert here: Masterworks 1