If you’d like to print the brochure for yourself, please find a printable copy here.

Masterworks 1: Surprised Surrender
Cicely Parnas – Cello

Concert Dates: September 10-12, 2021
Venues: Medford (Fri, 7:30pm), Medford (Sat, 3:00pm), Medford (Sun, 3:00pm)
Concert Sponsored by Grace Abbott
Soloist Sponsorship Available – Contact Us!

The fall concerts offer a delightful departure from the pre-pandemic concert fare. Without a crystal ball in this ever-changing post-pandemic landscape, we are saving the heavy-duty symphonic warhorses for the spring. Instead, we are reaching into a different chest of treasures. We are starting with a work by the Chevalier de Saint-Georges, a remarkable and brilliant Classical era composer, and the ever-clever Haydn. Dynamic young cellist Cicely Parnas joins us for Tchaikovsky’s charming set of variations for our return to live performance!

Saint-Georges: Symphony No. 1 in G Major
Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme
Haydn: Symphony No. 94 in G Major, ‘Surprise’

Masterworks 2: Autumn Shines
Tomás Cotik – Violin

Concert Dates:
October 8-10, 2021
Venues: Ashland (Fri, 7:30pm), Medford (Sat, 3:00pm), Grants Pass (Sun, 3:00pm)
Concert and Soloist Sponsored by Dick and Linda Lingelser

This is Martins’ concert of jewels. We just had to re-book Argentina native, Tomas Cotik, who now makes his home in Portland. He is acclaimed for his Piazzolla: Four Seasons of Buenos Aires and what better companion than Autumn, from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. But that is not all: Martin is paying off his debt to our formidable woodwind section, unintentionally silenced in 2020, with Gounod’s Petite Symphony.

Gounod: Petite Symphonie
Piazzola: Four Seasons of Buenos Aires
Vivaldi: Autumn from The Four Seasons

Masterworks 3: Playful Jewel
Wonkak Kim – Basset Clarinet

Concert Dates:  November 12-14, 2021
Venues: Ashland (Fri, 7:30), Medford (Sat, 3:00pm), Medford (Sun, 3:00pm)
Concert and Soloist Sponsored by Anne Diller

We are venturing into new territory with Jessie Montgomery’s Strum for strings – it will make you excited for the future of orchestral music! Together, we will enter the musical pantheon with Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto. But wait! The soloist Wonkak Kim will play the piece as it was originally conceived – on a basset clarinet! We feature our woodwind section with a woodwind quintet arrangement of Percy Grainger’s Lincolnshire Posy. Talk about roads less traveled! We are thrilled to travel with you.

Schubert: Overture in the Italian Style
Montgomery: Strum
Grainger: Lincolnshire Posy (arr. for woodwind quintet)
Mozart: Clarinet Concerto in A Major

Masterworks 4: Triangle of Love
Vijay Venkatesh – Piano

Concert Dates: January 21-23, 2022
Venues: Ashland (Fri, 7:30pm) , Medford (Sat, 3:00pm), Grants Pass (Sun, 3:00pm)
Concert sponsored by Will and Gretchen Van Ert and RC and Tina Vasavada
Soloist sponsored by Lou and Patricia Franks

This concert was planned for last year and we couldn’t let it go.  Robert Schumann, Clara Wieck-Schumann and Johannes Brahms usher in the new gilded age.  We feel like this is the new gilded age, NOW.   Full stages and full auditoriums are back! We eagerly anticipate Vijay Venkatesh’s delayed piano debut with the RVS and so does he. We feel as though we already know Vijay, he has become such a friend of the Rogue Valley Symphony. Let’s celebrate together!

Brahms: Academic Festival Overture
Clara Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 2 in C Major

America’s Journey, In Collaboration with the Oregon Shakespeare Festival

Concert Date: March 27th, 2022, 3:00pm
Venue: Medford
Concert sponsored by Helen Hanson
OSF Actor Sponsorships Available – Contact us!

Our journey begins at the 2021 Presidential Inauguration with Peter Boyer’s Fanfare for Tomorrow. We then journey back to the late 18th century and explore excerpts of writings and speeches by George Washington, delivered by OSF actor Chris Butler, and set to music by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, an Afro-British composer of the time. One hundred years later, we meet seven immigrants who came through Ellis Island on their journey to America. Today, their stories are told via Boyer’s Ellis Island: The Dream of America. Spoken texts for the work come from the Ellis Island Oral History Project, and are performed by seven OSF actors. With stage direction by Craig Jessen, celebrate our heritage and America’s journey with us.

Boyer: Fanfare for Tomorrow
Dworkin/Coleridge-Taylor: The American Rhapsody
Boyer: Ellis Island: The Dream of America

Masterworks 5: Reaching for the Sky
Otis Murphy – Alto Saxophone

Concert Dates: April 22-24, 2022
Venues: Medford (Fri, 7:30pm), Medford (Sat, 7:30pm), Grants Pass (Sun, 3:00pm)
Concert sponsored by Paul and Rebecca Smith
Soloist Sponsorship Available – Contact Us!

The season finale starts with The Creation of the World, an aptly named, jazz-infused chamber work by Milhaud. Things grow from there. First the radiant Saxophone Concerto by the French master Tomasi, played by the saxophone eminence that is Otis Murphy. Lastly, a splendorous and mesmerizing finale: Respighi’s Pines of Rome, a work featuring an orchestra so large, some players will be among the audience!

Milhaud: The Creation of the World
Tomasi: Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra
Weiss/Thiele: What a Wonderful World
Respighi: Pines of Rome

Venue Information

Please note that these guidelines are current as of July 12th, 2021.

Our 2021/2022 Masterworks Soloists