If you’ve heard of the Rogue Valley Symphony, but not heard the Rogue Valley Symphony, you’re in the right place – this is our collection of archival concerts from the last year. Listen to your heart’s content, and if you want to see more, check out our YouTube channel.

Jim Fox’s ethereal musical landscape, The City the Wind Swept Away, takes us gently to a place of timeless beauty. This serene music is best savored when you find a calm moment for introspection. So pour yourself a hot cup of tea, light a candle, and spend twenty minutes with us as we reflect on how the world has changed, and how it has changed us.

Rogue Valley Symphony Masterworks 3 Concert Detour, featuring string players in the Holly Theater.
Aaron Kernis, Musica Celestis
Edvard Grieg’s From Holberg’s Time
Béla Bartók’s Romanian Folk Dances

Your Masterworks 2 Concert Detour is here! We proudly present to you our second Digital Journey! We would have welcomed fall together, in person, but instead we send you this detour from your regularly scheduled Masterworks 2. In it, we celebrate our heroes: first responders, teachers, nurses, health care workers, and more. This film was made with them in mind. We dedicate this film to you. We know that the resilience we seek resides in us all.

Every challenge is an opportunity. We dream about being with you in the concert hall again – nothing beats that feeling. However, the world still needs beauty – it needs it more than ever. Fortunately, we humans are inherently creative beings. Therefore, we put our heads together and came up with Digital Journeys with the Rogue Valley Symphony. They are our big and very sincere thanks to you for sticking with us. They are also a reminder that we will be here for you when life returns to normal! The first Digital Journey features a series of solo performances featuring various RVS soloists and friends of the orchestra, accompanied by Music Director Martin Majkut at the piano.
Soloists and Program
Rhett Bender, saxophone: Rachmaninoff: Vocalise
Alison Dresser, horn: Glazunov: Reveries & Gliere: Valse triste
Kristin Kessler, oboe/English horn: Cotton: The Call of Light
Katheryn McElrath, flute: Boehm: Souvenir des Alpes
Will Scharen, trombone: Saint-Saens: Cavatine for Trombone & Piano
Michael Sorensen, viola: Bowen: Viola Sonata No. 1, Op. 18, mvt. I
Alexander Tutunov, piano: Rachmaninoff: Paques from Suite No. 1 & Borodin: Nocturne



There are number of volunteer opportunities with the Rogue Valley Symphony. Most prominent is our esteemed team of ushers, who assist our patrons to have the best possible concert experience. If this sounds like something you’d like to do, please fill out our Usher form or contact the Box Office with your full name, a preferred email address, and your personal calendar in hand.

Ashland and Grants Pass performances rely upon the dedication of our volunteer ushers, who help to make concerts run smoothly and are often the first point of contact with Symphony patrons. An usher arrives before the concert and reports to the Patron Services Manager, Lisa. Before the concert, the ushers scan tickets, hand out programs, direct the flow of patrons in the hall, open and close the doors, and assist elderly or disabled patrons to their seats as needed. After the concert, the ushers work with the Patron Services Manager to collect programs and any personal belongings left in the hall.

A volunteer usher needs excellent people skills, the ability to stand for extended periods, the ability to work as a team, and a commitment to friendly service. Attire consists of black pants or skirt, and a white or black button-up top. This opportunity is available at the Ashland and Grants Pass venues.

If you’re interested in helping with events or other volunteer opportunities, stay tuned.